



ARCHITECT LICENSE RENEWAL APPLICATION

An architect renewing their license must: 1) complete ten (10) hours of continuing education (CE) coursework as required by Business and Professions Code (BPC) section <u>5600.05</u>; and 2) complete and submit this renewal application with the appropriate renewal fee to the Board.

This renewal application may not be submitted to the Board more than 90 days prior to the license expiration date. A license renewed more than 30 days after its expiration is delinquent and a \$100 delinquency fee is required, plus any accrued and unpaid renewal fees.

The fee to renew a license that expires on or before June 30, 2023, is \$300. The renewal fee will increase to \$400 for licenses that expire after July 1, 2023.

A license holder renewing an expired license should visit our website and use the expired license fee calculator to determine the renewal fee owed. Licenses expired more than five years **cannot** be renewed. Individuals **may not** legally practice architecture in California without a current and valid license issued by the Board.

Official Board Use Only	
Receipt Number	Fee Paid
Date Paid	Renewal Date

PERSONAL INFORMATION

License Number:		Expiration Date:			
Last Name:		First Name:			
Middle Name:		Suffix:			
Address Of Record:					
City:		State/Province:			
Zip/Postal Code:	Country:				
Daytime Phone:	L	Evening Phone:			
Email:					

BUSINESS ENTITY REPORTING

Architects are required by BPC section <u>5558</u> to notify the Board of the name and address of the business entity (individual, firm, corporation, or limited liability partnership) through which they provide architectural services. The <u>Business Entity Report Form</u> is used to comply with this requirement. The information required by BPC 5558 must be submitted to the Board when an architect associates or disassociates with a business entity or does not provide architectural services to the public.

No

CONVICTION / DISCIPLINE QUESTION

In the preceding renewal period, were you formally disciplined by **Yes** a public agency or convicted of a crime in any U.S. or federal jurisdiction, military court, or other country, which involved a plea or verdict of guilty or a conviction following a plea of nolo contendere?

Check "Yes" if, in the preceding renewal period, you were disciplined by a public agency or convicted of a crime.

"Conviction" includes a plea or verdict of guilty or a conviction following a plea of nolo contendere to a misdemeanor or felony. You do not need to report a conviction of an infraction.

"Discipline" is limited to suspension, revocation, voluntary surrender, probation, reprimand, or any other restriction on a license held by you.

Please explain the details of the conviction or discipline on a separate sheet of paper. Indicate the date and place of arrest, name of court, court case number, code section violated, brief explanation of the offense, and the sentence imposed; or if applicable, indicate the date and nature of disciplinary action, name, and location of public agency and the fine or sentence imposed. If convicted under another name, please indicate other names.

Check "No" if, in the preceding renewal period, you were not formally disciplined by a public agency and were not convicted of a crime.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT

BPC section 5600.05 and related regulatory provisions in the California Code of Regulations (CCR) require California architects, as a condition of license renewal, complete five (5) hours of continuing education (CE) coursework on disability access requirements and another five (5) hours of CE coursework on Zero Net Carbon Design prior to the license expiration date. Architects who renew a delinquent license must complete the required CE coursework within the prior two years (24 months).

The Board does not have authority to approve or endorse specific course providers or courses. Coursework on either required subject is available online from a variety of sources. The Board may audit the records of licensees to verify completion of the required coursework. Architects must maintain records (such as certificates of completion or course transcripts) that document their completion of the required coursework for two years from the date of renewal and make those records available to the Board upon request. **Do not** submit your CE documentation with this renewal application. The Board will contact an architect when they are selected for an audit. However, you (or your provider) may use our <u>online</u> <u>submission tool</u> to upload your CE documentation at any time.

Architects who provide false or misleading information are subject to an administrative citation, which may include an administrative fine, or disciplinary action by the board.

I certify the mandatory CE coursework requirement, as specified in BPC 5600.05, clarified in related regulatory provisions, and further explained above shall be completed in accordance with those provisions.	Yes		Νο				
ARCHITECTS PRACTICE ACT							
Architects are expected to be knowledgeable of the statutes and regulations governing the profession of architecture and should periodically review the <u>Architects Practice Act</u> (Act) for updates. Architects are required to practice in accordance with the Act.							
I certify my review of the Architects Practice Act and familiarity with and understanding of its provisions.	Yes		No				

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that all representations on this application are true, correct, and contain no material omissions of fact to the best of my knowledge and belief.

Signature

Date