2016 Edition, Issue 3

Architect Registration Examination (ARE) Updates


On November 1, 2016, candidates began logging into their My NCARB Record and scheduling appointments for ARE 5.0 divisions. Those candidates who were already eligible to take ARE 4.0 could login and, if they desired, self-transition their eligibilities to ARE 5.0.

New eligibility requests received on or after November 1, 2016, will only be granted ARE 5.0 eligibilities. However, candidates who requested testing eligibility with the Board by October 31, 2016, will be allowed to take ARE 4.0 until June 30, 2018.

Updates to Both ARE 4.0 and 5.0

  • Rescheduling fee change: Starting November 1, 2016, candidates are no longer charged a rescheduling fee for divisions scheduled 30 or more days in advance.
  • International testing fee change: The fee for internationally delivered exams will be reduced to $210—a $100 savings.
  • New score verification procedure: A new score verification option became available November 1, 2016, for candidates who want additional verification of a failing score result.

What’s New in ARE 5.0

  • Scheduling exam process: Starting November 1, 2016, candidates pay NCARB the $210 exam fee prior to scheduling an appointment time at Prometric.
  • New break policy: Every ARE 5.0 division will include one flexible 15-minute break—to take whenever a candidate chooses.

Tools and Resources

NCARB released the ARE 5.0 Guidelines to help candidates prepare for the new version of the ARE. The document includes an introduction to the exam, an overview of appointment times, plus five steps to completing the exam.

On the September 14, 2016, NCARB announced the release of its ARE 5.0 Handbook —an in-depth guide to each division. In September, NCARB also rolled out the ARE 5.0 Online Community, which features videos on each of the six new divisions.

The Board encourages candidates to strategically plan their respective ARE testing. A strategic approach may optimally result in candidates completing the ARE by taking only five divisions through a combination of ARE 4.0 and ARE 5.0 testing. Please consult NCARB’s ARE 5.0 Transition Plan for more information.