California Architects

Newsletter Logo for California Architects

2018 Edition, Issue 2


A Publication of the California Architects Board ■ Public Protection Through Examination, Licensure, and Regulation

ARE 5.0 Transition

On July 1, 2018, the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) will retire the long-running fourth iteration of its Architect Registration Examination® (ARE®). Candidates who do not successfully complete ARE 4.0 by the June 30, 2018, deadline will be transitioned to ARE 5.0. Credit for ARE 5.0 divisions will be granted to candidates based upon their previously passed ARE 4.0 divisions and follow the NCARB ARE 5.0 Credit Model. A useful visual aid for candidates, the ARE 5.0 Credit Model explains how ARE 4.0 content is distributed in ARE 5.0 divisions.

ARE 4.0 divisions transitioned to ARE 5.0 will retain the related Rolling Clock. More specifically, the Rolling Clock for the transitioned divisions will be that of the corresponding ARE 4.0 component division set to expire first. For example, Practice Management requires successful completion of Construction Documents & Services and Programming, Planning, & Practice. If the respective Rolling Clock for each division is November 22, 2017, and January 31, 2018, then the Rolling Clock for Practice Management would be November 22, 2017 because it would expire first.

The Board encourages candidates to stay informed of changes to the licensure process. One of the best ways to do this is by joining our subscriber list and signing up with NCARB to directly receive ARE updates. The Board also recommends candidates periodically visit the Board and NCARB websites.

Architectural Interior
Architectural Interior